Resolved: To Breathe and Write

New Year’s Resolutions

I don’t often make New Year’s resolutions.  Too often, it just feels like fault finding with myself (depressing, if true).  Instead of resolving to fix something I don’t like about myself, I decided to reframe resolutions as setting some goals for myself to continue to bring positive energy and thankfulness into my life.

This past year, I have begun some paths I want to continue in the new year.  I started practicing yoga, and though thus far, it has been limited to once a week, I find it really gives me renewed physical and mental energy for the week.  When I strained my back repeatedly in November and December, I found that without my yoga practice, I was increasingly short with my family, I lacked energy, and reverted to unhealthy eating habits.  Practicing yoga helps me remember to breathe when the internal tension rises, and I’ve even found it helps my asthma symptoms!  In the new year, I hope to increase the amount of time I devote to practicing yoga, remembering that the benefits translate to everyone in my family.

Another continued focus is my writing.  While I had some publication successes early in the year, my efforts dudded out this fall.  None of my poetry submissions this fall were published, and as I opened the final rejection letter, I have to say, I was more than a little bummed.  But instead of crawling into my self-doubt and disappearing, I have decided to increase my efforts in the upcoming year.  While I had planned to submit a number of pieces in the fall, we spent many weeks visiting with family, and my priorities shifted. I realized that I wouldn’t expect to find a job mailing out only a handful of resumes, and I shouldn’t expect the perfect match with a journal by only mailing out a handful of submissions.  I am not sure what my writing schedule will look like this upcoming year, but I plan to shift my focus more off of my blog and onto my poetry (this may result in more infrequent posts).  I hope to alternate periods of writing with periods of mailing in submissions to increase the chances that my poetry will be a match for a journal.  I hope to connect with some writing friends who can give me feedback about my work.

Finally, I want to remember to savor every moment with my daughter as she experiences her third year of life.  When I feel impatient or frustrated with behaviors, I hope to remember to breathe, and change my focus to all the things I love about being a mom.  I have a new year to experience and share with her, and being present for her life will continue to humble, inspire, and bring joy, especially if I open my heart to embrace those ever fleeting moments of motherhood.

I wish you success in achieving your New Year’s resolutions, self forgiveness and perseverance during imperfect moments, and a brilliant year filled with love, friendship, and family.  Happy New Year!

2 responses to “Resolved: To Breathe and Write

  • Jessica@Team Rasler

    I think these are excellent goals. I especially like your last one, as it is one I need to work on as well. Sometimes I am so impatient to get back to what I want to do that I forget that I am with these amazing little people for a reason, and that these days are fleeting. I wish you success and brilliance this year as well!

    • Pamela

      I agree! That is something I’m really hoping I’ll be better at this year. I’ve built some guaranteed time-in times into our days so that time is devoted to nothing else but V, because given the choice, sometimes, I choose wrongly. I choose housework or something equally unimportant over my daughter. She doesn’t let me get away with it too often, but I’m trying to refocus my priorities remembering that this time only comes once!

Leave a Reply

