Home Cooking with The Ripple Effect 2009: What I Had in the Pantry Chili

What I Had in the Pantry Chili

I never put up recipes here, because I have no delusions that I am any kind of above average cook.  I can follow a recipe (though I’ve had a few baking debacles;  just ask my mother…) and adapt in a pinch, but I’m no gourmet.

But in a Zen state the other day, I was able to configure the contents of our pantry into a more than edible chili.  As this is the first chili I have made in my life, I thought that was darn tootin’ and wanted to share my success with my blog friends!  So here’s the skinny:

1.5 to 2 lbs ground turkey

1 can organic tomato sauce

1.5 cups organic frozen corn, thawed and drained (you can rinse with hot water to do this efficiently)

1 carton grape tomatoes, halved

2 cans organic kidney beans, rinsed and drained

1 can cannellini beans, rinsed and drained

1 onion, finely chopped (you can add more if you like more, but this is what we had left in the cupboard)

3 cloves garlic, minced

1.5 cups low sodium V-8 juice

2 tablespoons chili powder

1 teaspoon garlic powder

½ teaspoon ground cumin

½ teaspoon dried oregano

Brown ground turkey in a pan; drain if there is excess fat.  Combine all spices in a small bowl and mix together with a fork. Combine all ingredients  into a Crock Pot.  Cook on Low for 4.5 hours or until done to taste.  Eat a big ol’ bowl and enjoy!  (Feel free to add any peppers you have hanging out in your refrigerator or up the chili powder content to taste!)

Leave a Reply

