New Tagline and Other Blogging Business

After some consideration, a few thoughtful suggestions, and weeks of procrastination, I have finally settled on a new tagline for TheRippleEffect2009.

Thanks to those readers and bloggers (Ashley Jillian, Jesse S. Mitchell, and Jessica from Team Rasler) who submitted suggestions; I morphed the choices into the following:

A parent’s reflections on learning, living, and loving

TaDa!

On another thank-you related note, I wanted to especially thank my Aunt Mary and CanadianMommyTime for supporting me in my attempts to reach 10,000 views by one year of blogging.  Though I slightly passed my self-imposed deadline, I have surpassed 10,000 views, with my Father’s Day letter to my husband bringing in a record number (for me…anyway) of views.  Thanks to my loyal readers who keep reading, commenting, and sharing.  Thanks to my readers who offer different perspectives with grace and respect for others.  Blogging isn’t all about the numbers; it’s about the relationships and sharing that happens.  A growing readership just helps to involve more people in the conversations, which is always nice and welcome.  Anyway, thanks again, all!

Finally, Canadian MommyTime generously granted me the Versatile Blogger Award

which I humbly appreciate.  It has, however, taken me a few hectic weeks to respond in kind, so here is my better late than never response!  I want to thank CanadianMommyTime for this award; she has been a supportive fellow blogger and I always enjoy reading her thoughtful and gentle posts on motherhood and other topics.  Please do her writing the honor it deserves and check out her blog today.

The Rules for this award are as follows:

  1. Nominate 15 fellow bloggers who are relatively new to blogging (or whose blogs you enjoy most).
  2. Let them know that you have nominated them.
  3. Share 7 random facts about yourself.
  4. Thank the blogger(s) who nominated you.
  5. Add the Versatile Blogger Award picture to your blog post

(Please note to all Nominated Bloggers:  I know these awards are akin to blogging chain mail, but I think it’s nice to support each other when time and interest allows and I always feel flattered and supported when I receive one.  Please know I won’t be offended if you don’t complete the award requirements; we all have limits to our writing time and specific topics that we want to focus on in a given week.  I hope you get a few views and/or a reader or two from this post, is all!)


Nominations

Glitnir 76: My talented husband blogs about everything from fatherhood to technology to politics.  And on Thursdays, he writes about being thankful.

Quasi Agitato:  This artistic mother, Christine, writes about motherhood and her professional passion for music and acting.  She has a lovely voice; go check it out!

Team Rasler:  The down-to-earth Jessica shares her take on parenting, books, personal growth, and teaching.  So many of her posts resonate for me.

IGameMom:  What a great idea to review apps for kids!  I don’t have a smart phone, but I still check out her reviews to know what learning tools are available.

Modern Rage: Jesse writes so creatively and almost mystically; for those of you interested in poetry and literature, I would recommend checking out his work!

Thin Spiral Notebook:  Tara is so talented.  She takes amazing photographs, writes fabulous Haiku, crafts interesting fictional pieces and shares her honest experiences as a parent.  She has a real gift with words and I’ve enjoyed reading her work since I began blogging.

motherwho:  This gentle mommy is a breath of fresh air; check out her posts!

Beauty That Moves:  I feel like I’ve stepped into a soothing B&B when I read Beauty That Moves.  From healthy eating, to creating a calm home environment, to gorgeous photographic snaps of her home life, Heather has such a gentle tone that makes readers feel right at home.

A Detailed House:  What a creative talent; I think this DIY gal can make just about anything.  Her design projects are always awesome!

400 Days ’til 40:  I just love this blogger’s awesome, positive perspective as she shares daily life lessons as she approaches 40 years old.  I identify with so many of her posts and thoughts; it’s kind of uncanny.

Science of Mom:  This mom examines parenting questions through a scientific, research oriented lens and always shares in an objective, respectful fashion, even when the issues discussed are hot topics.  I enjoy such a refreshing approach.

Let Life In Practices:  Kristin Cuthrell’s writing is a great read for anyone interested in self-improvement and personal growth.  She provides helpful resources for additional reading on various psychological topics.

On The Go Momma:  I just love Kate Fineske’s work.  She’s real and honest and empathic.  And she’s kind and professional; such a good balance to have as a blogger!

The Sky Inside You is a poetry blog that I have newly discovered; I just like Marco’s style!  And what an expansive and inspirational blog name; LOVE it!

Cast Light is a blog that shares positive quotes and short inspirational reflections; kind of like a meditation for the day.

Seven Random Facts About Me

  1.  I once proofread a college phone book cover to cover.  The highlight of that job (besides the nice people I worked with) was selecting the cover picture.
  2. I love the thrill of riding in small aircraft and would study for my pilot’s license if I ever had the disposable income.
  3. I was once able to translate Morse Code at 5 words per minute.  Now I don’t remember any of it.
  4. I was a Girl Scout all the way through high school except for 6th grade.
  5. I hate snakes and only recently can see them in cages, on TV, or in print without FREAKING out.
  6. I got engaged in St. David’s, Wales under a rainbow; anniversary post forthcoming in August.
  7. I had my first poem published when I was 15.  It took about another decade + a few years for the next one to be published!
5 responses to “New Tagline and Other Blogging Business

Leave a Reply

